5 PHOTOS – 5 DAYS CHALLENGE – DAY 4

Standard

I have been selected by Silver Threading to participate in the 5 photos – 5 days challenge. Today is my final day and I must say I enjoyed this challenge. Thanks Colleen.

5 in 5

The challenge rules: “Post a photo each day for five consecutive days and tell a story about each photo.  The story can be truth or fiction, poetry or prose.  Each day one must also nominate a fellow blogger to participate in the challenge.”

Today’s Nominee: Fourth Generation Farmgirl

Day 5: BOLTS!

© Lisa W Tetting

© Lisa W Tetting

I am a newcomer to Tampa and to the sport of hockey, as well. Because the local pro team is in the NHL Finals playing for the Stanley Cup, I have quickly learned you can’t live in Tampa without having a relationship with the Tampa Bay Lightning, aka, THE BOLTS! They are everywhere and I love it. Being an avid sports fan, I quickly adapt to new sports and as my husband can contest, will cheer very loudly to support my team.

I attended my only pro hockey game several years ago when I lived in Atlanta, thanks to my friend Erika, and I really enjoyed the atmosphere. I was used to attending pro basketball or baseball games, but this was different. The fans were very engaged and vocal about everything that happened on the ice. Even though I did not know all of the rules, I was able to follow the game because of the crowd’s reaction. The one thing that stood out was how fast the game was. There was no time to chat and if I looked away for one second, I missed something important. At the basketball and baseball games, there is a time to socialize, and my favorite, people watch.

Since I moved to the Bay Area, I have heard nothing but Go Bolts, Go Bolts! I had to see what all of the fuss was about. I did a little research and found people around her love this team. From the local news reporters, to the local restaurateurs. No matter where you go, someone is reppin’ the Bolts. I find this very refreshing compared to other cities I lived in who have fair weather fans. Some of the cities, like Atl and Jacksonville have a large number of transplants, and they bring the love of their home teams with them. Here in Tampa, there are definitely transplants, but people seem to cheer for the local team despite not growing up here. I am not one to follow the crowd, but I will say this, since I never had a hockey team to cheer for, I will make the Bolts the recipient of my LOUD CHEERS. I have just one more thing to say…. GO BOLTS!!!

21 thoughts on “5 PHOTOS – 5 DAYS CHALLENGE – DAY 4

  1. Well, as a Blackhawk fan, I wasn’t happy with the outcome of last night’s game. 😀 Anyway, is that Colleen taking a selfie? I love these cool avatars!

Talk to me

