Indie Shine – Dr. KE Garland

Standard

indie-shine

In this edition of Indie Shine, a place for rebirthoflisa to “Shine” the spotlight on indie artists, we welcome award winning author Dr. Katherin Garland.

garlandk2

©Dr. Katherin Garland used with permission

Bio:

Dr. Katherin Garland is an award winning writer, whose work has been featured in the South Florida Times, Talking Soup, and For Harriet.

Q & A

What do you do and Why do you do it? 
I write creative nonfiction in order to inspire social change.
Tell us about your most recent work. 
TUWcover2My most recent book is titled, The Unhappy Wife. It is a collection of short stories based on real women’s marriages. Though the stories are inspired by real events, I’ve fictionalized parts of the women’s stories in order to protect their anonymity.
Who inspires you? 
I’m very self-motivated. I’m not inspired by a person, but more so an idea, a concept. I believe that we are all connected and can do whatever we set our minds to. Therefore, my inspiration comes from listening to my inner voice and believing that what I need to actualize those dreams is always within reach.
What do you consider your “Masterpiece” at this time?
A story that I wrote about my father called, “The Transition” is my masterpiece. It is a short story that describes the softening of my heart for a father who, in a sense had abandoned me. I won first place at the Royal Palms Literary Award in Creative Nonfiction for this piece, so at this point, it validates my writing ability.
What is your motto in life?
Anything is possible.
Name your wildest dream. The one you can not imagine achieving, but would love for it to come true. 
I honestly don’t have a wild dream that I cannot imagine achieving 🙂 I believe everything I can think of is possible.
What is your favorite quote? 

PHOTOGRAPHY

When it is all said and done, what would you like to be remembered for?
My hope is that people will remember me for being inspirational, whether it is because of how I lived my life or because of something I wrote.
Tell us about your next project and when will it be available to the public? 
My next project is called Daddy. It is an edited collection of women writers who’ve opened their hearts to talk about their father-daughter relationships. It will be available June 2018.
Where can fans purchase your work?
Fans can buy my work from my website: www.kegarland.com and also Barnes & Noble online.

Social Media

Twitter: kegarland

full_body_kg2016

©Dr. Katherin Garland used with permission

Instagram: kegarland

Facebook: kegarlandwriter

Author Website: kegarland.com

17 thoughts on “Indie Shine – Dr. KE Garland

  1. Nice! That’s what I’m talking about….rockin the red heels! Lolol
    I am a huge fan of sharing the the love, one writer & author to another! 😍😍 Thank you so much for sharing!

  2. Reblogged this on K E Garland and commented:
    Thanks again to Lisa W Tetting over at rebirthoflisa for supporting Indie authors and their work 😉 This interview might give you a little more insight into who I am and how I function.

Talk to me

