31 Day Movie Challenge – Day 28

Standard

IMG_6602-10

Today’s prompt for my 31 Day Movie Challenge is:

‘Name A Movie You Wouldn’t Watch With Your Mom’

flashdance

There are probably a million movies out there that would make me cringe to watch with my mom, but the one that is burned forever in my psyche is ‘Flashdance’. Let me set the stage for you. I was a 14 year old teenage girl in a small southern town trying to fit in with the crowd.(Don’t judge me I didn’t know better then. LOL) Anyway, the local movie theater started a new promotion called Midnight Movies on Friday nights. It was the talk of school and everybody was going. The movie playing was Flashdance. I had heard bits and pieces about the movie, but it wasn’t my main focus. I was focused on hot boys and one in particular that I had my eye on.(he shall remain nameless) At 14 I was not allowed to date so all I could do was look at the boy anyway. He would be forbidden from calling me at home that is if he was even interested. That didn’t stop me from having a crush and wanting him to think I was cool.

I went home that afternoon and worked out a plan in my room of how to get my mom to let me go to the movies at midnight. I knew it was a long shot, but I worked up the courage to finally ask her around 8:00 P.M. To my surprise she said yes without even batting an eye. I should have know there was more to it than that, but I was young and dumb and too excited to think about why she was so amenable. 11:30 P.M. rolled around and she got her keys and asked if I was ready to go. I assumed she was going to drop me off since I couldn’t drive myself. We pull up in front of the theater and who did I see but my crush. He was standing around with his friends and all of the most popular kids in school. I thank my mom for the ride, but to my shock and humiliation she turned off the ignition and proceeded to grab my hand and walk with me into the building, paying both of our ways. I couldn’t believe it! She was actually going to sit in the movies with me and watch the movie as my chaperon. I was mortified when my crush looked at me and noticed my mom holding my hand like a kindergartner.

I immediately wanted to leave, but my mom refused to budge. I was forced to sit through the entire movie with ‘Big Thel'(the nickname my siblings bestowed upon her) sitting next to me. I wanted to crawl in a hole and die.  Not only did my crush see me, but the entire population of coolness was there. The only thing that kept  me from melting into the floor like the wicked witch of the west was the fact that I would never let my mom see that she had won. I sat up straight, with a false sense of pride and  determination acting like I wanted her there. Well the universe must have thought our situation was hilarious because the movie started getting sexual. I was so uncomfortable sitting there watching Jennifer Beals stripping and dancing provocatively, not to mention the sex scenes and the obvious sexual undertone of the movie. The funny thing was Mom was more uncomfortable that I was. Her little plan sort of backfired on her. I say sort of because I definitely did NOT ask to go to Midnight Movies anymore. LOL

I had no business watching that movie at such a tender age, but to be condemned to watching it with my mom in public was a bit damaging. Just so you understand, my mom is from a generation that never even said the word sex out loud. I received my first and only ‘sex talk’ just before my wedding day, at the age of 30 after living with my fiancé for years. What did she think we were doing, holding hands with the pillows between us?  I found it very odd that she would choose that time to attempt to tell me about the birds and the bees especially since the only thing she said was ‘you two need to be careful’ . This was the most entertaining thing in the world to me and I gave her a hard time by acting like I didn’t know what she was saying until she said the word sex. I still get a kick out of it even now, almost sixteen years later.

So Lovies what is that one movie you would never watch with your mom? Leave a comment and let me know. And remember…IMG_5992-11

One thought on “31 Day Movie Challenge – Day 28

Talk to me

