31 Day Movie Challenge – Day 5

Standard

2014

Today’s prompt for my 31 Day Movie Challenge is

“Name Your Top 5 Favorite Actresses”

It is time for the ladies ya’ll and once again I had issues deciding. I narrowed it down to 5 but then I added two more and a Lifetime Achievement. I still have more, but just like the guys I had to stop somewhere. Here are my picks:

7) Julia Roberts

julia-roberts

I started liking her in “Pretty Woman” and she has gotten better and better over the years. She made me cry in Steel Magnolias. I was scared for her in Sleeping With the Enemy, I wanted to run with her in Conspiracy Theory and I laughed and got angry with her in The Mexican. Those are just a handful of her movies that I enjoy and she is great in all of them.

 

 

 

6) Salma Hayek

Salma Hayek

I love, love love this lady. I was captivated by her performance in Frida. She is a very under rated actress who should have more work and a much larger following in my opinion. Among my favorites of hers are Fools Rush in, Desperado, Once Upon A Time in Mexico and Dusk Till Dawn.

 

 

 

 

5) Loretta Devine

loretta

Miss Devine has the talent to do anything, she has done stage, film, movies and can SANG! This lady has played everyone’s mama or auntie in movies. She has the range to play a character with learning disabilities in Funny Valentines or a scheming black mailer who you love to hate in the TV show Being MaryJane. Not to mention she is an original Dream Girl!

 

 

 

4) Halle Berry

halle-berry

Halle’s beauty is usually what people think of when they hear her name, but I also think she is a talented actress. Some of my favorites of her roles are Their Eyes Were Watching God, Queen, The Wedding, Being Dorothy Dandridge, Cloud Atlas, Gothika and Frankie & Alice. She also did her thing in Boomerang, Jungle Fever and B.A.P.S.

 

 

 

3) Dorothy Dandridge

dorothy_dandridge1The very woman who Halle Berry portrayed in the biopic is a legend in the game. Her role in Carmen Jones is iconic as well as her performances in Porgy and Bess and Island in the Sun. She was a triple threat who could sing, dance and act and in my opinion before her time.

 

 

 

 

2) Cicely Tyson

Cicely Tyson

Mrs. Tyson has been a favorite of mine since I can first remember movies. She has always been so beautiful and classy. She was the positive image of a black woman on the big screen that I first remember identifying with. Some of her most notable works are Miss Jane Pittman, A Lesson Before Dying, Mama Flora’s Family, The Heart is a Lonely Hunter, and A Woman Called Moses. She is indeed an American Treasure.

 

 

 

IMG_6598

 

1) Angela Bassett

AngelaBassett

This lady is the most versatile of all actresses I have listed here. She has played a cop turned vampire in Vampire in Brooklyn, an action hero in Strange Days, a sexy divorce in How Stella Got Her Groove Back, not to mention a fire starting estranged wife in Waiting to Exhale and the director of the secret service in Olympus Has Fallen. Not to mention the many people she has portrayed in biopics such as Katherine Jackson in The Jacksons: An American Dream, Betty Shabaaz in Malcolm X as well as Coretta Scott King in Betty & Coretta, Rosa Parks in The Rosa Parks Story and her earth shattering role as Tina Turner in What’s Love Got to do With It.

 

The LIFETIME Achievement Award goes to:

Mrs Bette Davis

bette-davis-on-crawford

She is a classic Diva who knew her craft and practiced it well. My all time favorite movie of hers is Now Voyager! I also love Jezebel, Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte, The Letter and A Stolen Life. She was an amazing actress who refused to hold her tongue and was the queen of shade.

 

That’s all for now Lovies! Who are some of your faves? Post in the comments and remember…IMG_5992-0

10 thoughts on “31 Day Movie Challenge – Day 5

  1. Wonderful Choices!! Many of them mirror mine. Here are some other favorites:

    Angela Bassett

    Taraji P. Henson

    Dorothy Dandridge

    Viola Davis

    Queen Latifah

    Whoopi Goldberg

    Diahann Carroll

    Alfre Woodard

  2. Given my choice for male favourites it will come as no surprise if I say my favourite actress has to be Katie Hepburn. I loved the woman. But, others are Dorothy Dandridge who was a true professional and Whoopi Goldberg who makes me laugh and Lauren Bacall.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  3. Deb

    I love Julia Roberts, Sandra Bullock and Meg Ryan in the many romance movies she did. I tend to love women who fight in movies…like reall kick-ass fights. I would have a pretty long list if I were to put them all in a lineup:-)

      • Let me give you a movie she plays in that I think you would like. I love her because she can be so versatile in her roles. You’ll see. Watch these movies in this order: Belle (1st) and Beyond the Lights (2nd). Watching these 2 will show you her range. I think Beyond the Lights is on Netflix

Talk to me

