Words Crush Wednesday #wcw – Bowie

Standard

wcw Bowie2

This week’s Words Crush Wednesday #wcw is in honor of David Bowie who passed away this past weekend. He remains a legend in the music industry and my heart goes out to his family and friends. His thought on love are in alignment with mine:

wcw Bowie

Thanks to those who participated in the past #wcw posts. Please remember to ping back to this post and tag #wcw so I can find your entries.

The Mad Grad Student 

Riddle From the Middle

L. Jones Edition

The Understanding of Dee

Memee’s Musings

Eat, Play, Clove.

Want to join the fun? Click here to see how it’s done.

IMG_6187

3 thoughts on “Words Crush Wednesday #wcw – Bowie

  1. I find it fascinating and honestly, a bit frustrating, annoying(?), that everyone is attributing this quote to David Bowie. He didn’t create it. He wasn’t even the first to sing it. David Bowie was only one of more than a dozen covers.

    Nature Boy was first recorded in 1947 by Nat King Cole. And he didn’t write it either. The lyrics were gifted to him by a stranger. But before it could be released to the public the composer had to be tracked down. His name was Eden Ahbez. And in 1948 the words “The Greatest Thing You’ll Ever Learn Is Just To Love And Be Loved In Return,” were heard for the first time.

    Still, David Bowie is an important part of American iconology. I am just wishing people were remembering him for his own glorious creations (for me — being more movie oriented than music oriented, it is his turn as Jareth the Goblin King in 1986’s Labyrinth film.)

    Well, gosh Lisa, thanks for allowing me to express my frustration over the past few days. I guess I’ve got myself a new blog post! LOL.

Talk to me

