Something New – “Endings and Beginnings,” by Colleen Chesebro

Standard

Try Something New Today!

Today is the final day for my Guest Blog Series of Something New! My good sis, Colleen Chesebro of Silver Threading Blog wraps it up for us.

New Beginnings

I would like to thank my friend Lisa, for inviting me to her fabulous blog and for inviting me to write about one of my favorite subjects – new beginnings.

When I was a child and mid-August rolled around, I remember fondly the anticipation I felt at the beginning of each school year. I loved my new pens and notebooks, folders, and theme paper. I diligently cut up brown paper grocery bags and wrapped the covers of my school books, as was the custom required by the Milwaukee Public School system at the time. Excitement was in the air and I knew that year would be the best yet!

In fact, I have always loved new beginnings. There is something fresh and exciting about starting all over again. It feltlike a spiritual awakening to me and an excitement would rise deep within my soul, and that in turn fueled my imagination to new heights. At the first hint of a new beginning, my mind would expand and grow in anticipation waiting for the next new experience to begin. Fear of the unknown never held me back. I would forge ahead, learning and adapting as I moved forward.

One day it occurred to me that my love of new beginnings always signified a great change in myself and my hope grew at the possible outcomes. The idea that something desirable could occur to me as the direct result of changes beyond my control fascinated me. Of course, not all of those changes gave me the desired effect I was after. Life never gives you all that you want, but it does give you what you need.

So, it was not much of a stretch for me to figure out that I loved‘change.’  I thrived on new beginnings because they afforded me the opportunity to let go of things that did not work for me. Everything felt clean and fresh. Change let me become a better person.

Just like the excitement I felt as a child getting ready for each new school year, I found myself embracing the act of packing up and moving around the country. It was exhilarating and scary all in the same breath. These moves always meant challenges and hard work. Thank goodness I was lucky enough to have married a man that was exactly the same way!

Are they mad, you might ask? Who in their right mind would want to move around the country like that? The last time we checked, we were not certifiable, yet!My beloved brother-in-law has started calling us gypsies! Actually, my husband and I are alright with that description as we did live that lifestyle for many years.

The years we spent in the military were amazing. We traveled the world and lived in different countries. We loved meeting new people and learning new languages. It was not a reach for us then, in retirement, to travel around the United States and live in different locations. California, Utah, Montana, Arizona, Florida, to … Colorado!

Here we are, getting ready to travel again. This time we are moving to the mountains. Sadly, we have promised each other that this must be the last time. The last great move. The end. We need to settle down and put down some roots. We need to live somewhere that our kids and grand kids can find us and come and visit. Our traveling days are over!

Even though this is an ending, it still feels like a new beginning. Anticipating the energy I will need to accomplish this last great move, I can still feel the excitement mounting as I sit here typing these words. You know what? I can’t wait for the adventure to begin.

New Endings

Bio: Colleen 10.21.14

Colleen M. Chesebro is a writer of cross-genre fiction, poetry, and imaginative nonfiction. Her first fantasy novel is currently under production and called, “The Swamp Fairy.” The book tells the story of Abby Forrester, a 14-year-old orphaned girl who manages to save a community of fairies from certain destruction. Along the way, Abby learns about friendship, love, and what it means to really belong in a family.  Colleen lives in the United States with her husband, Ron and her two Pomeranians, Sugar and Spice. You can learn more about Colleen and her creative stories on her website: silverthreading.com.

18 thoughts on “Something New – “Endings and Beginnings,” by Colleen Chesebro

  1. Colleen, you are amazing! I just finished moving, and now the organizing and getting everything off of the middle of the floor and counter tops is my next big project. Yikes, I barely made it through transferring from one apartment to another within walking distance, I can’t imagine all the way to Colorado. I’ll be looking forward to your future writings.

    Blessings for your move,
    Marianne

  2. Glad to read more of your gypsy lifestyle. After spending years thinking I don’t like change I’ve discovered it got me where I am and I welcome it. Routine is what I can’t do without. Change is energizing. Happy packing! And nesting in a place your children and grandchildren can call home. ❤

  3. So interesting to learn a bit more about your nomadic lifestyle via Lisa’s blog, Colleen. Time to settle down, in my case I think we’ve got one move ahead of us possibly before we settle down for good somewhere, who knows? Venue still to be decided!

Talk to me

