Something New: Embracing Change – Yecheilyah Ysrayl

Standard

Try Something New Today!

Primarily, I would like to thank Lisa for giving me the keys to the house. It’s nice and cozy in here and you all look great! While I tend to be long winded, I have been given a copy of the house rules, so I’ll be brief.

Lisa asked me to write about newness today and I choose change.

We live in a world that celebrates routine and ritual, so it’s not always easy to embrace change. It is something that happens so frequently in our lives and yet remains something new; moving in and out of our day with the same glide as oil to a pan. Starting with a puddle and then auctioning pieces of itself off into different directions. But this is not easy for us to do; to forgo tradition for a road less traveled by. To be reborn in a way that blows our minds and challenges us to become different. To think and to act in a way that is new; to adapt to a foreign idea or practice. But today, I challenge you to change your routine for the sake of incorporating a new experience into your daily lives. While Change can be difficult, it comes with a kind of strength that can only be experienced to define, and has the potential to open us up to endless possibilities, causing our minds to stretch beyond limit. Embracing change in short, frees us from the captivity of routine, and the stagnancy of ritual.

– EC

Bio:
Author Yecheilyah Ysrayl used with permission

Author Yecheilyah Ysrayl used with permission

“Yecheilyah Ysrayl (or “EC”) is an author, blogger, and Spoken Word Artist. She spent a portion of her childhood in the Robert Taylor Projects located in the Bronzeville neighborhood on State Street between Pershing Road (39th Street) and 54th Street alongside the Dan-Ryan expressway.

In 2010, she published her first book of poetry, and in 2012 she published a second book of poetry, From when I was a Black Girl which became a quarterly book of study at the Evergreen State College in Tacoma, WA.

Two years later (’14), she went on to publish the first book in a screenplay series, Pearls Before Swine, which became the inspiration behind her blog, Pearls Before Swine.

EC is currently working on Book #3 in the Stella Short Story Trilogy.”

7 thoughts on “Something New: Embracing Change – Yecheilyah Ysrayl

  1. I agree with everything you say – change isn’t always easy and, as creatures of habit, we often resist it, but it’s a vital part of moving forward!

  2. I think I’m going to give this a try. I can definitely see how routine has caused me to stay stagnant in a lot of areas instead of reaching my full potential. I WANT to explore new heights and new adventures. I WANT to see what I am capable of. I WANT to change WHO I impact in life and where I leave my imprint. Thank you for sharing such a great (and much needed) idea!

Talk to me

