Good News!

Standard

mockingburg

OMG! I am soooooo excited to report that famed author Harper Lee will finally be releasing her sequel to To Kill a Mocking Bird! According to eonline, Mrs. Lee has given the go ahead to her publisher to release Go Set a Watchman on July 14th; just in time for my birthday! Anyone looking to get me a present, this will be a great one. I can’t wait to read about Scout’s life as she reflects on her childhood. I wonder if Boo Radley will make an appearance. “Mockingbird” was one of my favorite books growing up and I always thought there should be a sequel. The book was written in the 1950s, but is just being released this year. I am super stoked; how about you?

Dilemma concept in tag cloud

Update: After I finished jumping up and down I came across a second article on eonline, which indicates the author may not be the one authorizing the release of her manuscript. Since her first best seller took off, the author has remained out of the spotlight and refused to give interviews. Apparently her sister who shielded her from the press passed away this past November and another caregiver located the manuscript. Eonline reports Mrs. Lee has been in poor health and currently resides in an assisted living facility where she is mostly deaf and blind and confined to a wheelchair. If this is the case I am conflicted and now am unsure if I really want to purchase the sequel. Dilemma…

8 thoughts on “Good News!

  1. Reblogged this on Sevhage Reviews and commented:
    Harper Lee has a new book out, and it seems I am not the only one who is excited… Read from Lisa…and yes, please follow her. Her blog is literarily [however is that thing spelt 😉 ] exciting… Cheerio, S’

  2. Hey! I think the main thing to look out for is the book… The book exists aside the author. I feel totally sad that Mrs. Lee is in that state… I never would have thought of it… But while we can deeply groan, we should pay her our due respect by buying her book and reading it. In that way, we celebrate her, her thoughts and creativity. More, in that way, we immortalise her in us deferring whatever way nature might place her in reality… Or don’t you think so?

    • I am still conflicted because I am unsure if she wanted the book released. She could have done that years ago if that was true. My love for Scout will more than likely override my uncertainty. Good thing I have until July to decide.

  3. I agree it’s a conflict. I love TKAM so much, but I know Harper Lee didn’t want her other writings releAsed (at least I seem to remember that from somewhere.) more research is needed. I’ll let you know what I find.

Talk to me

