An Aunt’s Love

Standard

Writing 101: Day 12 – Dark Clouds on the (Virtual) Horizon
Today, write a post with roots in a real-world conversation. For a twist, include foreshadowing.

nieces

If I had known it would cause such chaos, I never would have mentioned that my niece came to see me. My niece is a good friend of mine and we have a lot in common. We have been close since she was born and I was 9 years old. Our relationship started out rocky because she followed me everywhere, but once I got used to it I was happy to have her around.

Now that we are both adults, we still have a special relationship. I am closer in age to her and relate more with her than I do with my older sister, her mom. At times it seemed like I was a part of their family and at times it seemed I was intruding. One particular instance shocked me and let me see my sister in a different light.

My niece came to see me and my husband and we had a nice time for the few days she was there. I spoke with my sister some time after the visit and was recalling how happy I was to spend time with her daughter. My sister’s tone changed immediately and she seemed very agitated. I had no idea that she was not aware of the visit. Apparently she had resented my relationship with her daughter for quite some time, but failed to tell me. All hell broke loose and I was on the receiving end of some hurtful comments. I was accused of trying to steal her daughter and was promptly reminded that she was her mother not me!

I was taken aback and as usual when attacked I responded with the cold hard truth in a harsh tone. I informed my sister that I was well aware that I was the aunt and she was the mother. I never had any intention of taking her place because I never wanted kids of my own and she had no reason to worry because her daughter loves her. I also informed her that her jealousy would not come between my relationship with her daughter and from now on I just wouldn’t tell her anything. I also informed her that she should be happy that I like to spend time with my niece and that we have such a great relationship.

There was a riff in the family for quite some time behind this and I still feel strange spending time with my niece without her mom. Sometimes I wonder if she was trying to tell me that she wants a closer relationship with me and may envy the one I have with her child. If this is the case she went about it all wrong!

Talk to me

