Writing 101: Day 7 – Give and Take

Standard

Focus today’s post on the contrast between two things. The twist? Write the post in the form of a dialogue.

Camping vs. hotel

This scene is a discussion between a husband and wife about what they would like to do on the weekend. The husband is an outdoors man and the wife a person who hates outdoor activities.

Loren asks, “So honey, what do you have planned for us this weekend?” “I was thinking we could go up to Georgia this weekend” Mark replied. “Alright!!! We can shopping and to the museum; maybe find a cool restaurant and then later we can have cocktails in the hotel bar. I can’t wait.”

“Wait, what? I was thinking more like a camping trip where we could go kayaking and swimming and maybe a hike before cooking on a campfire. We can make s’mores for dessert. You like s’mores don’t you?” Mark said.

“Yeah, I don’t think so. You know good and well I hate camping. What would make you think I would want to sleep outside with all those bugs and animals; not to mention SNAKES!”

“I thought you would enjoy the fresh air, the beauty of the night sky and the sheer joy of being in nature living off the fat of the land.”

“Really, you thought I, the person who lives to eat in restaurants and can’t be outside more than five seconds without breaking out, would love a torture session of camping.”

“Honey, camping is fun. Kayaking is one of the most peaceful things to do on earth.”
“Yeah, right after being burned at the stake.”

“What do you want me to do, cancel the reservation at the campgrounds?”

“Uh, Yeah!”

“Why can’t you try something new just this once? We never get to do what I want, it’s always about you.”

“I always do thing you want, but to prove you wrong I will agree to go; but I am NOT sleeping outside. You will need to get us a hotel.”

“Fine!”

“Fine!”

Talk to me

