Writing 101: Day 6 – A Character Building Experience

Standard

Today, you’ll write about the most interesting person you’ve met in 2014. In your twist, develop and shape your portrait further in a character study.

pos.jpg

Today’s exercise has put forth a great challenge for me because I am so much of an introvert that I have not really met anyone interesting this year. I am not the person who seeks attention; in fact I shy away from it. If I meet someone new, it takes a while for me to get to know them because I don’t trust easily. I have not met anyone in person that I would deem interesting. That being said I have one person that I have know only a few months, but I think is more interesting than most.
Her name is Zora Langston and she’s a 9 year old girl from North Carolina. Of all the people I know, little Zora has suffered greatly, but what makes her so interesting is that she does not let these tragedies affect her outlook on life. She is the most optimistic and loving child I know. She sees life as a gift and wears her scars as a badge of honor. Zora is a special kind of child who needs love, understanding and craves true friendship. This child has survived the loss of her father, rape, and physical/mental abuse from her mom. She has true grit and determination and her will to survive stems from her roots in the church and her kinship with God.
I met this young girl while I was on a path to self discovery. You see, she is a figment of my imagination and the main character of my upcoming novel, “The Mistreatment of Zora Langston”.

4 thoughts on “Writing 101: Day 6 – A Character Building Experience

Talk to me

