Intro to Rebirth…

Standard

Why-Blog

I wanted to gain more experience in writing a blog so I decided to take the Blogging 101 course. Today is Day 1 and the assignment is “Who am I and why I’m here”. Let’s see…

My name is Lisa Wright-Tetting and all of my life I have been resisting my gift of writing. I enjoyed it in school and for years have secretly wanted to make a living at it. It was such a secret that I hid it from myself and never told a soul. Growing up I never knew that black women could really be writers. Everyone I ever read about and every book I was given was written by or about either Caucasians or males. As a result I never had the ambition to be a writer. It was as if my mind had been told that it was not possible for me to be who I was because I never saw any other examples of people who looked like me.

As I grew older I realized there were very popular African American writers, some of them women, but I had never been exposed to them. I read their books with excitement but still never thought I could do what they did. As an adult the desire to write would not leave so I dabbled a bit in poetry, but never had the courage to read them at open mic nights. I have always had stories in my head since I can remember, but I never thought anyone would care to read them so I never bothered to write them down. Last year at the age of 44 I finally got the courage to start a blog. It was something I wanted to do for years, but was too afraid of rejection and criticism.

Since starting my blog, I have refocused my way of thinking and grown to the point that I have allowed what has been locked away deep in my heart and mind to be released! I finally realized that the writer in me will not be silent and if I don’t let her escape I will be doomed. It felt soo wonderful to open the flood gates and let her out! The first time I revealed something personal in my blog I was nervous, but I received positive feedback from friends and family. My goal with this course is to learn ways to expand my readers and reach more people. I have stories and opinions inside of me that need to be told and expressed and I would love to share them with the world!

Talk to me

