The Vows…

Standard

image

This past week my husband Doug and I celebrated 14 years of marriage. We have been together 19 years and to me that is a huge deal. This man is a part of me and I would do absolutely anything for him. I decided this year instead of sticking to the traditional gift of ivory; I would give him something more meaningful. That morning I was awakened by the familiar chime on my phone that alerts me of receiving a text message. It was before 8:00 am and anyone who knows me, knows not to text or call before 9:00 am or after 11:00 pm unless it is an emergency so I started to get irritated, but then stopped cold in my tracks. It was a text from my husband who was getting ready for work. He texted a picture of us on our wedding day sharing a smooch. That was the sweetest thing and it made me appreciate him even more.

This thoughtful gesture got me to thinking about our life together and how I wanted to have many many more memories. I became more nostalgic than usual and decided to take a walk through our past adventures by looking through some of our old photo albums. I decided to put a little slideshow together via a cool little app I discovered called Flipagram. As I looked at the pictures and listened to our wedding song during the slideshow, I noticed something amazing…. We are getting old! This was a huge revelation for me because I still like to think of myself as that sassy 30 year old that married that handsome 28 year old. We looked so very young in those pictures and though we both still look good for our age, we are not kids anymore.

I sent my little creation to my husband and he noticed too. At that moment I realized that if I want to be around to share many more years of great memories, I need to make some changes in my lifestyle. Over the years I have gained a considerable amount of weight and have not been mindful of the food I consumed. If it tasted good and I liked it, I would eat it. Doug is not a health conscious eater either so it made it easy for me to make all of those fattening meals and not worry about if he would object. In all the years we’ve been together I haven’t made a meal that he did not like, with two exceptions; I was experimenting with new recipes on those occasions.
As a result of my epiphany I decided that I would make a new vow to my husband on our anniversary. That night at dinner as we laughed and talked, I texted him a note. It said “I pledge to become healthier so that we can have more fun and be together longer in this lifetime!” I have tried and failed several times in the past to lose weight or get in shape. I was never serious and I took it lightly. I could drink the required water and I have no problem eating healthy foods. My problems are that I can’t stay away from sugar and I hate to exercise. Those of you who knew me in high school may be shocked by this admission, but I have always hated to exercise. When I was young my love of basketball overrode the contempt I felt for running. It was a necessary evil and I was willing to put up with it as long as I could play ball. After college that all went away. This time around I intend to put in the hard work that is required to make life style changes so Doug and I can be together longer. I must not fail at this challenge because it is a promise to him. It is for both of us and ours is the most important relationship in my life. I may stumble, but I will not fall. I will succeed and seeing Doug’s face everyday will remind me why I am doing this. I am being held accountable and writing this blog will help as well. I will write a weight loss journey to help remind me of the details once I reach my goal and I have decided to share it with you all.

Once a week I will provide an update, be it good or bad. I pray there will be more good than bad. Today I started the journey and I am excited to report that I finally got up and moved! Doug purchased a Zumba kit for me a couple of years ago because I mentioned I wanted it. I watched part of the first video and never opened it again. Today, not only did I open the package, I watched the video and actually did the workout. It was not easy for me, but I made myself continue. I was proud that I actually did something, anything to begin my new exercise regime. I’ll keep you updated on my progress. Until then, wish me luck!

Talk to me

