Save Our Young Black Girls

Standard

happy2
Hi guys… I’ve been MIA for a couple of weeks, but never fear I’m back! For the last few weeks I have been feeling uninspired and every time I sat down to write, it just wasn’t the business so I decided to rest. Well. today I woke up ready and I feel the need to speak about our youth. In a couple of months I will be turning 45 and I have realized that I am a part of the last generation of black girls who were reared by parents who had a strong arm sense of being and required that we show respect even when it wasn’t given. If I was out in public and one of my mom’s associates saw me doing anything remotely wrong, I got checked right there and the person gave a full report to my mom right there in my face. Now I certainly did not like the nosey adults in my life reporting on me, but I darn sure wasn’t going to be disrespectful for fear that I would lose my life when I arrived home. My mom did not play! This network of support helped to reinforce the rules and values my mom taught at home. I knew if I got out of line, mom would know before I got home. There was no getting away with anything and as annoying as it was, it kept me safe. This was a norm in the black community when I was growing up so most of us stayed on the straight and narrow. Sadly, those days are mostly extinct.

Today’s youth are growing up with an entitled way of thinking and most of them do not respect their elders. Now don’t get me wrong, I am aware that the “older” generation had similar critiques about us back in the day, but there is a drastic change happening in the US and it is at crisis mode. If my generation does not take the time to help these young ladies, they may become a lost cause.

When my mom was growing up, young black girls had very limited hope. Their choice of making a living was derived from the “3 M’s”; Mamas, Maids and Mammies. They were not expected to get a good education because they would never be able to secure a job outside of those choices. Of course there were exceptions; they could also aspire to be teachers and nurses if they were from an upper class family. My generation was told that young black girls could be anything they wanted and we were encouraged to go to college and make something of ourselves. So we were taught the “3 R’s”; Reading, wRiting, and aRithmetic. It seems that this generation is falling back into that old limiting trap of hopelessness and underachievement. They are being brainwashed into believing that they are only good to be a part of the “3 S’s”; Strippers, Side chicks and Slaves.

Society has made a point to blatantly show our young black girls that they are not valued and there is no respect for them. Don’t believe me, just look at the typical magazine cover or TV commercial. Look at the so called stars and celebrities and you will see examples of what I speak. In order for a beautiful black celebrity to don the cover of Elle or Cosmo she must either be photo shopped into an unrecognizable version of herself or she must wear blonde extensions in her hair and makeup to make her look more European. If our girls are not being told that their natural beauty is not good enough, they are being shown that strippers are role models. If they are not being shown how to twerk and work a pole, they are being told that being an infamous side chick is something to aspire to. At what point did it become popular to not want a husband of your own, but to want someone else’s? In these ways, girls are being sold into a mindset of slavery by their own society. They think it’s cool to take self deprecating pictures of themselves and post it on a social media site for the world to see. If that’s not bad enough, they are being led to believe they are not good enough as they are. They are feeding into the crazy notion that they need to look, act and transform into something they are not. We have young girls dressing like they are 30 years old to catch a man who will use them for sex and throw them away or worse beat them just because. On the flip side, some young ladies are going all the way left and trying to be boys. They call themselves studs and look more like a man than some of the men you see walking down the street. There is nothing wrong with being gay, but why are you dressing like a man and doing everything you can to convince everyone you have an extra piece of equipment between your legs. Newsflash, we know you are a girl!

Now that I have brought the subject up and you are more aware of this issue, I hope it will cause a stir in you. I pray that you will not just read this and let it go. I beg you to do something about it!

Here are a few activities to get you started:
• Teach your daughters, nieces and sisters to do better
• Mentor a young black girl in your community
• Volunteer at your local elementary school, church or community center
• Donate and volunteer at organizations that uplift black girls
• Post uplifting messages on your social media and tag a young girl
• Form your own organization
• Campaign your political representatives for better representation
• Boycott beauty magazines that don’t recognize our beauty
• Support magazines that support black beauty

One thought on “Save Our Young Black Girls

  1. Yasmin

    I feel like I must respond to this blog. You are speaking TRUTH. I am a public educator and the attitude, “I don’t have to listen or respect any adult if I don’t want to,” is running rampant. I talk to my students everyday but it is so hard to combat this problem because it appears to be acceptable in their everyday environment.

    Children today are exposed to so much. We celebrate reality TV shows that show black women as ignorant and cursing or fighting each other. Women of color are on TV and in magazines scantily dressed. These women parading around on these TV shows and on these magazines are making millions (Thanks to us!). So of course, girls want to be like them. As long as the majority accepts these “norms.” and treat people who speak out against the ridiculous behavior like they are uptight and self-righteous then this epidemic will continue.

    I like the way you ended the blog. I just hope many will read it and take some action. Thanks for caring enough to speak out about this problem. I am definitely with you and not against you.

Talk to me

